Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124


A Definitive Guide to Chakra Mantras – Introduction to Chakras

Reading Time: 4 minutes


Each one of us is born with a unique energy system that flows through our bodies and connects us to the world around us. This system is known as the chakra system, and it is made up of seven main energy centers, or chakras. Chakras are believed to be a map of our consciousness, and each chakra is associated with a different aspect of our lives. 

The seven chakras are the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra, and the crown chakra. Each chakra has its own unique energy and purpose, and when our chakras are in balance, we are able to function at our highest potential. However, when one or more of our chakras are out of balance, we may experience physical, mental, or emotional problems.

We are Just a Ball of Energy

The only thing that separates us from the rest of the universe is our perception. Similar to how a bubble in the ocean appears to be separate but is still joined with the water, we are joined with the energy of the universe. Our chakras are the points where this energy intersects with our physical body. By aligning and balancing our chakras, we can create harmony within ourselves and connect to the greater whole.

In order to progress spiritually by way of the chakras, it is necessary to first understand and separate the ego from the true Self. The ego includes the individual mind and personality, while the soul is the divine, eternal part of us. We are all one with the universe, but the ego causes us to believe we are separate and alone. The chakras are the key to reuniting the ego with the soul so we can remember our true nature and experience true bliss.

There are seven main chakras, each associated with a different area of our physical and mental well-being.

The First Chakra: Muladhara Chakra

Finally, the first chakra or Muladhara chakra is located at the base of the spine. This chakra is all about feeling grounded, feeling safe, and feeling supported. 

The first chakra, Muladhara chakra, is the foundation of our being. It is the chakra of stability, security, and survival instincts. This chakra is located at the base of the spine, and its energy is centered around our connection to the earth. When this chakra is balanced, we feel safe, secure, and grounded. We can stand firm in our beliefs and meet life’s challenges with confidence.

The Second Chakra: Swadhisthana Chakra

The Swadhisthana or second chakra is located at the sacral region, just below the navel. This chakra is responsible for our creative and sexual energies. 

The second chakra, or Sādhāsthāna Chakra, is located in the pelvic region. It is known as the sacral chakra because it is associated with the sacral plexus, a nerve center in the lower abdomen. The sacral chakra is responsible for our creativity, sexuality, and pleasure. When this chakra is in balance, we feel connected to our bodies and open to new experiences.

Third Chakra: Manipura Chakra

The Manipura chakra is located at the solar plexus and is associated with the element of fire. This chakra is responsible for our personal power and will. When it is balanced, we have a strong sense of self-esteem and purpose. When it is out of balance, we may feel powerless and directionless. Sun, moon, and planet mantras are also said to be very effective in the purification and balancing of the Manipura chakra.

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra/Anahata Chakra

The Fourth Chakra, or Anahata Chakra, is located at the center of the chest and is associated with the element of air. This chakra is the center of the physical and spiritual heart and is responsible for our ability to love and be loved. When this chakra is balanced, we feel compassion and unconditional love for ourselves and others. We are also able to give and receive love freely.

Fifth Chakra: Vishuddha Chakra

The Fifth Chakra, or the Vishudda Chakra, is located at the throat and is associated with the element of ether. This chakra is responsible for communication, both with others and with the divine. It is also associated with creativity, self-expression, and truth. When this chakra is balanced, we are able to express ourselves freely and authentically. We are also able to communicate our needs and desires, and we are able to hear the truth when it is spoken to us. When this chakra is out of balance, we may have trouble communicating, both with others and with our own inner voice. We may also find it difficult to express our creativity, and we may have trouble speaking our truth.

Sixth Chakra: Ajna Chakra

The Sixth Chakra, also known as the Ajna Chakra, is the center of intuition and foresight. It is the chakra of wisdom, inner knowing, and spiritual guidance. The Ajna Chakra is often called the “third eye” because it is the center of your psychic ability and your ability to see clearly. When this chakra is open, you have a strong connection to your intuition and your higher guidance. You are able to see the truth, and you know what is right for you. You are also able to trust your intuition and your inner knowing.

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra

The Seventh Chakra, or the Sahasrara Chakra, is the highest chakra in the human body. It is located at the crown of the head and is said to be the seat of the soul. It is associated with enlightenment, spirituality, and cosmic consciousness. It is said to be the gateway to the divine and the source of all knowledge and wisdom. When this chakra is open and balanced, it is said to grant access to higher states of consciousness and spiritual enlightenment.